Cricket Sports Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka cricket ring the changes for Bangaldesh tour

Sri Lanka announce 18-man squad for 3-match ODI series vs Bangladesh.

Kusal Janith Perera has been named Captain and Kusal Mendis Vice-Captain of the Sri Lanka squad that will tour Bangladesh for a three match ODI series. Several of the senior players were dropped as Sri Lanka Cricket target World Cup 2023.

In naming a young squad, Sri Lanka’s new selection committee – headed by Pramodya Wickramasinghe – and coach Mickey Arthur have signalled they are seeking to aggressively develop a fresh set of limited-overs players with a view to the 2023 World Cup. Across the 18 players named, only 33-year-old Isuru Udana is older than 31, and just three players are above 30.

SLC media Release: 

The following Sri Lanka squad has been chosen by the Cricket Selection Committee of Sri Lanka Cricket to take part in the upcoming ODI series vs Bangladesh.

The team leaves for Bangladesh on the 16th May 2021 to take part in a 03 match ODI series.

The Minister of Youth and Sports Honorable Namal Rajapaksa gave his approval for the squad.


  • Kusal Janith Perera – Captain
  • Kusal Mendis – Vice-Captain
  • Danushka Gunathilaka
  • Dhananjaya De Silva
  • Pathum Nissanka
  • Dasun Shanaka
  • Ashen Bandara
  • Wanindu Hasaranga
  • Isuru Udana
  • Akila Dananjaya
  • Niroshan Dickwella
  • Dushmantha Chameera
  • Ramesh Mendis
  • Asitha Fernando
  • Lakshan Sandakan
  • Chamika Karunaratne
  • Binura Fernando
  • Shiran Fernando

0 comments on “Sri Lanka cricket ring the changes for Bangaldesh tour

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: