Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka President shows old guard the door, in new look all-male cabinet

President Gotabaya Rajapaksa’s staunch supportive MPs have not been granted posts in the new Cabinet that was appointed today.

Vocal MP Johnston Fernando held the post of Minister of Highways in the previous 4- member Cabinet has been removed from his post.

Other strong supporters former Ministers Keheliya Rambukwella, Sarath Weerasekara, Gamini Lokuge, Dulles Alahapperuma, Mahindananda Aluthgamage and Rohitha Abeygunawardena, Pavithra Wanniarachchi, and Vasudeva Nanayakkara have also not been included in the new Cabinet.

Finance minister Ali Sabry continues in his position despite resigning from the post.

Except for the President and Prime Minister members of the Rajapaksa family also were axed namely Namal Rajapaksa, Chamal Rajapaksa, Basil Rajapaksa, and Shasheendra Rajapaksa.

The newly appointed Cabinet which consists of 17 Ministers has failed to include female representation.

MP Pavithra Wanniarachchi is the only female Parliamentarian from the SLPP who has held the ministerial portfolios of Health, Energy, and Transport under the former Cabinet.

Sri Lanka’s cabinet members resigned en masse from their positions as anti-government protests escalated on 2nd April. 

All 26 ministers aside from President Gotabaya Rajapaksa and his elder brother Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa stepped down during a late-night meeting. 

Despite widespread protests the Rajapaksa brothers defiantly have stayed on in their respective positions as President and Prime Minister.

The new Cabinet was appointed by President Gotabaya Rajapaksa at the President’s House in Colombo today. 

%d bloggers like this: