Sri Lanka World News

Sri Lanka’s two main parties to sign MOU to continue unity Government

Sri Lanka’s two main political parties the SLFP and the UNP is to sign a new Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) in order to work together in the Government following the ongoing talks, SLFP General Secretary and Minister Duminda Dissanayake said.

Minister Dissanayake said that ministers of both parties have agreed to hold discussions to come up with a common program for the two parties to govern together for the remaining 18 months.This new program will be launched at the new parliamentary sessions scheduled for May 8.

“It will be a comprehensive and strong program acceptable and beneficial to the country,” Minister Dissanayake said adding that the SLFP has appointed a five-member committee headed by Minister Dr. Sarath Amunugama to work out the details of the program.The MoU will be signed soon after the two parties approved the program, he said.

In the meantime, Speaker’s Media Secretary Chaminda Gamage confirmed that the second session of eighth Parliament on May 8 would be a ceremonial sitting. President Maithripala Sirisena is expected to commence the session with a special statement.

Deputy Secretary General and Chief of Staff of Parliament Neil Iddawala said the Constitutional Assembly and Steering Committee appointed to deliberate on Constitutional reforms are not affected by the prorogation of Parliament as they were set up by Parliamentary resolutions.

“All the other Parliament Committees except for Sectoral Oversight Committees and the High Post Committee stand dissolved following the prorogation. Members and chairmen to them must be re-appointed. This applies to the COPE and COPA as well.

All the private member motions, private member bills and questions for oral answers have to be re-presented. Propagation will not affect the other Bills presented by the Government and those will continue to the next session.

Parliamentary seats of MPs will also change as 15 SLFP ministers, deputy and state ministers have resigned from their posts,” he said.

Asked whether a new Deputy Speaker will be appointed on May 8, Iddawala said Parliament is yet to officially receive the resignation letter of Deputy Speaker Thilanga Sumathipala.

Via Daily News and other media organizations

%d bloggers like this: