Fifa World Cup Qatar 2022 Middle East Qatar Sports World News

World Cup champions to get $42 million in prize money…See every team’s prize money

DOHA, Qatar(AP)-

Argentina, the World Cup champions, will earn $42 million in prize money for their soccer federation.

France, the losing team, will get $30 million from a FIFA prize fund of $440 million.

When France won the World Cup in 2018, the country’s federation got $38 million from FIFA’s $400 million prize fund.

Not all the money goes to players, but they are expected to get a good chunk of it. France players such as Kylian Mbappé are in line to be paid a bonus of 554,000 euros ($586,000) by their federation for winning the final, French sports daily L’Equipe reported.

Every national soccer federation gets at least $9 million in prize money for playing at this year’s World Cup, plus $1.5 million for each toward costs of preparing for the tournament.

Third-place team Croatia earned $27 million in prize money. Morocco, which ended up in fourth, will be paid $25 million.

FIFA’s total revenue for the past four years was $7.5 billion, with most from broadcast and sponsorship deals, plus ticket and hospitality sales.

How much money have previous World Cup champions won?

FIFA has been publicizing World Cup prize money since 1982, according to The Athletic. Since Italy was awarded $2.2 million for winning the 1982 World Cup, the prize money for the champion has gone up since then.

Here is a look at the prize money for the past 11 World Cup winners, according to The Athletic:

  • 1982 World Cup champion: Italy – $2.2 million
  • 1986: Argentina – $2.8 million
  • 1990: West Germany – $3.5 million
  • 1994: Brazil – $4 million
  • 1998: France – $6 million
  • 2002: Brazil – $8 million
  • 2006: Italy – $20 million
  • 2010: Spain – $30 million
  • 2014: Germany – $35 million
  • 2018: France – $ 38 million
  • 2022: Argentina – $42 million

How much money does each 2022 World Cup team get?

Argentina gets the most money out of each team, but it doesn’t get the majority of the prize money. How much each team gets depends how they finished the tournament, plus an extra $1.5 million for each toward costs of preparing for the tournament.

Despite losing in the final, France gets $30 million. Third-place finisher Croatia gets $27 million and fourth-place Morocco gets $25 million.

Here is how much each team gets for the 2022 World Cup:

  • Champions (Argentina): $42 million
  • Runner-up (France): $30 million
  • Third place: (Croatia): $27 million
  • Fourth place: (Morocco): $25 million
  • 5th-8th place (Netherlands, Brazil, Portugal and England): $17 million each
  • 9th-16th place (U.S., Australia, Poland, Senegal, Japan, South Korea, Spain and Switzerland): $14 million each
  • Group stage teams (Ecuador, Qatar, Iran, Wales, Mexico, Saudi Arabia, Tunisia, Denmark, Germany, Costa Rica, Belgium, Canada, Cameroon, Serbia, Uruguay and Ghana): $9 million each
%d bloggers like this: